Three Ugandan MPs barred from parliament for refusing self-quarantine after returning from Dubai

EYEAFRICA TV: Kampala, Ugandan: Parliament has suspended three members who defied the presidential directive of self-quarantine after returning from Dubai.

Three legislators including Sempala Kigozi, Cissy Namujju and Kafero Ssekitoleko are banned from accessing parliament until further notice.

The directive issued by the Speaker of Parliament Rebecca Kadaga also bars other parliamentary staff including: Adrine Natukunda Agatha Akankunda. Last week, President Yoweri Museveni issued a number of guidelines to prevent the spread of the deadly covid-19.

Among others included quarantining of all persons who came from category one countries.
However, some members of parliament deliberately ignored the guidelines after returning from United Arab Emirates. These did not quarantine themselves for the mandatory 14 days prompting the Speaker to act.

To ensure effective implementation of the self-quarantine for MPs, parliament has set up a four member Parliamentary task force. These include: Francis Mwijukye MP Buhwejju, Esther Anyakun woman MP Nakapiripirit, Bernard Atiku MP Ativu and Arinaitwe Rwakajara, workers representative.

All these measures are in response to the public outcry by members of parliament over Covid19 to the attention of the Speaker. Also of concern by legislators was the porous borders that aide entry of suspected patients.

For now, all sittings of accountability committees including COSASE, Public Accounts Committee and Local Government Committee have been suspended until further notice.

0 0 vote
Article Rating


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Posts

Eye Africa TV
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Scroll to Top