Seven UN member states, six from Africa, lose right to vote over unpaid dues

EYEAFRICA TV: New York, USA:- Seven UN member states including six from Africa have lost their right to vote in the UN General Assembly over unpaid dues, Secretary General Antonio Guterres said Monday.

Under the UN charter, voting rights can be suspended for countries whose arrears equal or surpass the amount of the contributions due from them to UN coffers in the previous two years.

In a letter sent to the president of the General Assembly, Volkan Bozkir, UN chief Guterres said the seven countries are Niger, Libya, the Central African Republic, Congo Brazzaville, South Sudan, Zimbabwe, and Iran.

The letter according to AFP, spells out an amount each country can pay, short of their total debt, to recover their right to vote.

Iran, for instance, needs to pay at least $16.2 million.

The UN’s budget is around $3.2 billion per year. The budget for peacekeeping operations is separate and totals around $6.5 billion.

1 1 vote
Article Rating


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Posts

Eye Africa TV
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Scroll to Top