Newly elected African Union Commission chairs take oath of office

EYEAFRICA TV: Addis Ababa, ETHIOPIA:-Moussa Faki Mahamat, who was re-elected for a second term of office as the Chairperson of the AU Commission and Dr. Monique Nsanzabaganwa, newly elected as the first woman to occupy the position of Deputy Chairperson of the Commission, took their oath of office on 7 February 2021.

The swearing-in ceremony took place during the 34th Ordinary Session of the Assembly of Heads of State and Government, virtual meeting, holding under the auspices of the newly elected Chair of the Union, H.E.  Felix-Antoine Tshisekedi Tshilombo, President of the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC).

The two high officials to pilot the affairs of the AU Commission have committed to serve the continental organization faithfully and with dedication.

They have promised to do the best in their ability, to preserve, protect and defend the ideals of the founding fathers of the OAU now the AU, as well as its Constitutive Act in a bid to promote unity, solidarity, cohesion and cooperation among the peoples of Africa and African States.

The Chairperson of the Commission is the Chief Executive Officer, legal representative of the AU and the Commission’s Chief Accounting Officer. He is directly responsible to the Executive Council for the discharge of his duties.

While the Deputy Chairperson assists the Chairperson in the execution of his functions for the smooth running of the Commission and is in charge of administration and finance. 

0 0 votes
Article Rating


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Posts

Eye Africa TV
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
Scroll to Top